Better Days

I love Christmas music.  I love the holiday, and I love the meaning behind it.  I love the fact the we celebrate the day Jesus was born to come save us, that even when He was treated like crap He led an amazing earthly life to serve us and die on a cross for us even though we are so undeserving.  The sad part about Christmas is that it is so easy to miss that meaning, to commercialize it and to make it all about presents and santa.  Don’t get me wrong, I love that part of Christmas, because its fun and I love seeing people receive gifts I give them, and I also love receiving them as well.  But because of this I sometimes lose sight of what Christmas is all about.  This is where presents and trees and decorations take my focus off Jesus.  But a buddy of mine told me that they did this song at the Christmas Eve service at her church and it took me a while to realize why.  “Better Days” by the Goo Goo Dolls is such an AMAZING song.  The message is great and so true. Even though the GGD’s arent a “Christian” band, they did a great job of summing up this holiday, and how it should be viewed.  The whole songs is about just loving and caring in hopes that we will find “better days”.  I attached the Christmas version of the video I found for it, so I hope you take a couple minutes to watch and enjoy it. 

 

 

on another note, I’m leaving for Florida in a day or so to roadtrip with my boys for the new year.  This is the closest I have come to going on a “faith led trip”.  We have no solid plans.  We have a car, a tent, cities we want to go to, and hopefully people we know in those cities.  Really there is no telling what will happen on this trip but I am confident that God will use this in our lives to encourage us and make us stronger.  I have no idea who we will meet, what we will do, or better yet what God will do.  So it should be fun and look for a post in a week or so to hear more about it.  After all Paul tells us in 2 Corinthians to “live by faith, not by sight”. 

Cheers,

Brandon Thomas

One Response to “Better Days”

  1. nicholas Says:

    i love “faith led trips”

    and you

Leave a comment